Forums

Please or Register to create posts and topics.

4 Year Anniversary of My Return to W2

I started playing W2 in February 2016, and happen to remember it was near Valentine's Day.

It's been a crazy journey I could never have imagined.

Re-uniting with my favorite game in the world was like a meteor crashing into Earth, burning brightly before vanishing.

The early days of re-discovering W2 were supremely exciting.

DeathKnight~ and another really fun person were a part of that time. I started to remember why I'd loved W2 for about a decade before I quit "forever" for 5 years but found myself back in Azeroth once again. I was enjoying myself. I was a girl so I admittedly got special treatment. Many better players were banned where I was allowed to play with the best players in private games. I was treated pretty well, at first, actually. The occasional nasty person was easy to ignore.

Then DK got banned and I protested and got launched into activism against injustice and speaking out against mistreatment of new players and bullying and toxicity. All the drama that unfolded over the course of this last 4 years led to me becoming one of the most hated W2 players of all time...because people did not like being told racism is bad or bullying is bad and they certainly didn't like the idea of me playing W2 in a place where they couldn't PM me vulgar, rude messages or threaten to ban me for telling the truth. It turns out I wasn't the only one who wanted to play Warcraft 2 in a friendly environment.

Different people take different roles at different times in your fantasy W2 universe that is actually comprised of real human characters.

Someone you enjoy and game with and laugh with for months and months can turn on you and later become a hateful enemy. It would be easy to become bitter and mistrustful of humanity as a whole, but it's important to remember not everyone is the same.